Advancing human rights and equality
through public interest litigation

Email  Twitter


The Project is under the direction of a Board of Trustees:

Chair of the Board

Paul Mageean

Paul qualified as a solicitor in 1991.  He has worked in private practice and the public sector and spent almost ten years as the Legal Officer with the Committee on the Administration of Justice.  He is currently a Parole Commissioner north and south of the border and is also a Commissioner with the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission.






Board members

Sam Pollock OBE

Sam commenced working in the Justice System in Northern Ireland in 1972, initially in the Probation Service and then as a Governor in the Prison Service, serving in the Maze Prison.  He continued in Probation and Prison related functions until 2001 when he was appointed Chief Executive of the Office of the Police Ombudsman.  Following this he was Chief Executive of the Policing Board for three years.   In 2004 he was awarded the OBE for services to criminal justice.



John Wadham 

John is Chair of the UK’s National Preventive Mechanism (; Member of the Human Rights Committee of the Law Society of England and Wales, Associate Member Doughty Street Chambers, independent expert for the Council of Europe, the United Nations, and others and a Visiting Fellow at Bristol University.  Previously he was Executive Director of INTERIGHTS (the Centre for the Legal Protection of Human Rights); General Counsel of the Equality and Human Rights Commission and Deputy Chair of the Independent Police Complaints Commission; and Director of Liberty.




Paul Pierce


Paul is a partner in KRW Law- LLP, a leading law practice specialising in criminal and human rights law.







Fiona Doherty QC 

Fiona is Queens Counsel at the Bar of Northern Ireland specialising in Coronial Law and Judicial Review.  Fiona is Vice-Chair of the Bar of Northern Ireland’s Professional Conduct Committee and a member of the Bar’s Advocacy Training Board.  She is a former Chair and Board Member of the Committee on the Administration of Justice.